Book #1: Red Rising

Image

If you like action and you want a dystopian novel without the strong underlying romance that so frequently seems to be a package deal with this genre, than this may be right up your alley. The latter was something I truly appreciated. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good teenage fling every now and then, but it’s nice to get a break. In fact Darrow (the main character) avoids romantic relationships throughout most of the book for reasons that become clear within the first fifty pages. From there it gains a bit of a Hunger Games feel as the actions of revenge develop into a plot against the reigning class, but I don’t say this in order to diminish this new entering contestant to the dystopian genre. Though readers may find similarities to other books Red Rising combines them in a way that is new and addictive. You know a good book by the way it hooks you with the first page so you don’t want to put it down. And it does hook you in the first page.

Similarly to The Hunger Games, there are some violently detailed scenes and other referred mature content. Though the characters are teenagers, Pierce Brown depicts them as having a higher level of maturity that makes them seem more like adults to the reader. At least, that’s how it appeared to me. The best thing I can compare it to is Orson Scott-Card’s Ender’s Game where the children are around 6-12 years of age, but speak and act much older than they really are.

As far as Red Rising being his debut novel, I was highly impressed. If you enjoy The Hunger Games and Ender’s Game you will enjoy this book as well.

I wish I could tell you more about the book but it’s so much better when you don’t already know what’s going to happen next. If (or, when, to be optimistic) anyone reading this gets a chance to read this book feel free to share what you thought in the comments. If you do give spoilers simply say so in big bold letters so no one will stumble upon the ending without wanting it.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did but if you don’t tell me why because it makes for great conversation.

p.s. Also the next book of the series, Golden Son, comes out January 2015. Now those who hate that year long wait can feel a little better that you only have to wait six months to read the sequel. I’m excited if nobody else is.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fiction, Sci-Fi, Young Adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book #1: Red Rising

  1. jbrianrice says:

    Awesome! Follow my blog too señor! I’m reading Stephen King right now; I’m on his 5th book. I’m interested to read your book reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

