Book #7: The Gifts of Imperfection

Image

This is a book for everyone, and I mean everyone. There are a lot of inspirational and self-help books that work for some people but just don’t resonate with others. The topic of this book will speak on some level to everyone who will read it. Those topics are shame, guilt, and vulnerability.

I first started reading this book more out curiosity than personal application. However, within the first ten pages I knew I was going to be getting more out of it than I had originally anticipated.

As you can see in the picture above I found many things worth noting. I plan on re-reading it because, although I got a lot from it, there was so much that I wasn’t able to get and that I feel the need to review a second time around, at the very least.

So as best I can, this book is about how to live and overcome shame and vulnerability with courage and worthiness so that we can live a wholehearted life. It isn’t about hiding from the negative things or acknowledging them while putting them into a bottle. We are able to overcome our vulnerabilities because of our imperfections. We accept them and acknowledge them as a part of who we are. The book is about worthiness and courage; the courage to be who we are, to feel worthy of the things that we want to do, and to become who we want to become.   

It wasn’t until after I finished the book that it hit me how vulnerable I am. I don’t have a problem being myself for the most part. But there are things about me that I’m ashamed of; that I don’t want other people to know. The question I’ve been asking myself is “why?” Why does it matter if someone else is embarrassed by my actions? And if they are, why should it affect me? I can’t control other people; I can only control myself.

I don’t know about everyone else but I frequently have those intruding doubts that can take a moment of pure joy and turn it into a deepening pit of shame. All it has to do is whisper: “I can’t believe you just did that. You look so stupid.” The thing that we each have to remember is everyone makes mistakes.

Everyone is looking for that key to happiness, and I’m not saying this is the magic book to solve your problems (I’m a Christian so I believe the scriptures will do that), but it is a good book for someone looking to become more comfortable with who they are and where they are in life, and that’s as good a place to start as any.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Inspirational, Nonfiction, Psychology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book #7: The Gifts of Imperfection

  1. crochetqueen228 says:

    I’m definitely going to read this book it sounds great. I’ve really been enjoying your blog. Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

