Book 11: Blink

Books like this have made the adjustment of reading non-fiction easier and more enjoyable. I avoided reading non-fiction for a long time because I grew up reading as a means of escaping into a fantastical world where I could experience things that are seemingly impossible in reality. Now that I am older and reading for more than a means of escape, I have developed the desire to learn of history and the workings of the world, though I still enjoy a good fiction novel now and again.

What I have discovered about the work of Malcolm Gladwell is that he doesn’t simply teach one thing. His books, articles, and other works walk you through a series of stories, events, and ideas that will teach many different concepts while helping to develop his main idea. He reminds me of those teachers who stand in front of a class and move from one tangent to another until everyone in the class is lost to his intentions. Then, shortly before the class ends, he brings everything back to his original idea and solidifies his point in the minds of his listeners.

Blink is about our ability to make snap judgments. When information and opinions flood our mind, Gladwell looks at the capacity of the subconscious to show us the correct path to tread. He also discloses the weaknesses of using our snap judgments, providing further instruction by giving simple guidelines where by we can each establish a foundation for our progression in using this other part of our mind to see the world. Blink assists to clarify our understanding, not of how the world works, but how our minds can work for us to help change the world.

Similarly to when I reviewed The Gifts of Imperfection, I shared my opinion that it was a book for everyone to read. Blink, I believe, is right up there. Both this book and Outliers have helped me shape the way I see myself, other people, and the world. Previous beliefs were re-examined and changed because of the facts that were displayed with well researched evidence. His approach is both broad and focused in fulfilling his purpose to answer the questions that many of us have always wanted to ask, but have been unable to answer.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Nonfiction, Psychology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

