Book 28: Hyperbole and a Half

hyperbole and a half book

There are some people who have the natural gift of story telling. I had a friend who could tell a story about driving down a mountain and everyone listening would be enthralled. It was all in how he told it. I’ve always wished that I could have a life as exciting, comical, or fun as these people, and I don’t think I’m alone. In reality we all have great experiences that we could share, but we don’t always know how to go about it. Allie Brosh has both in spades.

Her blog, and her consequent book, have both been met with success from a large audience. Her stories about her life and her struggles with depression are both inspirational, insightful, and enjoyable. One such story that caught my attention as insightful was a two part story. In it she talked about the difficulty in matching her thoughts with her actions, always thinking of doing mean or strange things or doing things but for selfish reasons. She told the story as if this is something that doesn’t happen to normal people. The reality: it happens to me, and I’d like to think a large majority of others. Now I don’t consider myself to be normal, but this is the age old struggle between the natural man and the spiritual self. Or for those who aren’t religious, the selfish self vs. altruistic self. This leads me to one of Brosh’s greatest strengths when it comes to her writing – its relatibility.

Everyone has crazy thoughts, does crazy things, and has strange things happen to them. These are all parts of the bundle package that is life. But sometimes the characters or people involved in a story, whether it be fiction or nonfiction, are not someone we can connect with. As I strive to complete my goal of 50 books before September 15th I have read many books of many genres and my favorite books, without fail, were those which I could relate to. As I read Allie Brosh’s stories I would think of my own life. The more I did the more I could relate to the the experiences she described and the more I enjoyed her writing, her illustrations, and her incredibly unique style. What Allie showed me was that everyone can write a book or tell a story, but only a few can take the simple events of life and create a story that will captivate the reader, reminding them of something worth reading again. Allie Brosh’s blog and book made my wife laugh so hard she had to take breaks while reading. It’ll make you laugh, it’ll make you cry, and you’ll never want to put it down.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Nonfiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

