Book #36: A Natural History of Dragons

A Natural History of Dragons

Hello everyone! I was finally able to break through the formidable wall of work and school to continue posting where I left off. I hadn’t realize I was this far behind with my reviews. It was a bit of a surprise when I logged on and saw I was only up to book thirty-five. Yikes! I’m up to book forty-six.

Hopefully I will be able to get on more frequently but it will probably be slow for the first while as I adjust back to school. Now enough of this nonsense: enjoy the review.

***

I like history and I like dragons, so this book was destined to be good. If you are expecting an actual history of the mythological race than you will be disappointed. It is a fictional novel following a renowned scientist of dragons as she shares the stories of her adventures that lead her to become who she did. This is her story.

Lady Trent is the worlds most formidable scholar on the topic of dragons. But she wasn’t always so well known. In the beginning she was Isabella, a young girl with a mind for knowledge and a curiosity that lead to trouble.

As an adult she has lost non of her curiosity or desire for knowledge, and when another researcher looks to mount an expedition to the mountainous region of Vystrana she is willing to move heaven and earth to take part. She very nearly has to, but thanks to her loving husband they are both able to find positions in the crew. Once there they find their scholarly task is not the only thing they will be doing. With smugglers moving through the mountains, dragons attacking with increasing regularity, and a plot to get them out of the region Isabella will rely on her wit, her admiration of the creatures, and her reckless curiosity to discover what is really happening in Vystrana.

I bought this book because of it’s cover. As you can see above it’s both creative and captivating. I also read the first few pages and liked the writing style, I’m not so reckless as to buy a book without know what’s inside. I was still a little surprised by what I found, but pleasantly so. If I must compare it to something I would say it is very similar to Elizabeth Peter’s, Amelia Peabody Mysteries. The main protagonist is a strong willed female who is a bit of a feminist and pursues scholarly pursuits that often lead her into harms way. Actually now that I think about it the only major differences are the other characters and the direction of scholarly interest. This is a good thing.

The mystery part of the story was okay. Rather predictable but well thought out and constructed. I can’t, in all fairness, compare this to mystery novels by Agatha Christie (my new favorite mystery author) because they are so very different. A Natural History of Dragons is, for one, a young adult novel and written so a younger audience can enjoy the plot and solve the puzzles. It also has a light and fun feeling which isn’t always as prevalent in more serious examples of the genre. Having only read a few of the serious mysteries I can honestly say that they can be quite exhausting. This is the case for me. It takes some time to adjust to a new type of book.

It’s been a little while since I finished this book (I’m behind in my posting) but I can’t think of anything that stands out in my mind as needing improvement. She developed the characters well with significant depth, illustrated a detailed setting, and wrote an elaborate plot. She succeeded in making this book into a great first book in a series and I look forward to when I can afford to buy the rest of them. You may be surprised by how expensive they are.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book #36: A Natural History of Dragons

  1. ljpaul5b3g says:

    I think I will look into this, thanks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

