The Reading Funk

Hello everyone,

I’m sorry that posts have been so slow as of late. The reason for the irregularity of book reviews and other fun stories is because I have been in a funk; a very deep book funk that has been partially created by an onset of depression. The result has been rather sad and pitiful. Every day I would find myself staring at my bookshelf, now in it’s rainbow color scheme (picture below), and finding myself totally uninterested to read any of them. There are forty books on my book shelf that I haven’t even read yet, so one would assume that I would find one to be interesting, but alas here I am writing this post.

Rainbow Book Shelf

The other reason why I wasn’t able to read was because I’ve been reading a book that I was struggling to continue reading but I didn’t want to stop because I began having feelings of disloyalty to the friend who recommended it to me. As a result of this I was also unable to start a different book, partially because of this ridiculous notion of loyalty, but also because I was committed to a book and couldn’t leave it without figuring out what happens. Does anyone else ever feel this way?

Anyway, to make a long story short, I finally got over my self-hating and picked a book: The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo and now I am on the road to rediscovering my passion for reading.

So now I am on my way to recovery and should be fully cured from this book funk within the next couple days and be able to continue sharing my ever-growing book knowledge and opinions with all of you who still want to hear about them. Thanks for sticking with me!

This entry was posted in My Experiences, World of Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Reading Funk

  1. ljpaul5b3g says:

    I have learned the art of walking away from a book. I think of it like a conversation that is going nowhere. It is okay to say “Well it was nice talking to you.” And walk away. I have many unfinished books. But I understand the loyalty.

    Like

    • When you first posted this I wanted to be able to say, “I can put a book down if I want to, but I usually want to stick it through to the end,” but that would have been a lie. Sometimes it was loyalty and other times it was just plain stubbornness that keeps me reading a book long after I’ve lost interest. Sometimes I hoped that it would get better or that the end would make it all worth while, and sometimes it does, but most of the time it’s just a disappointment. But lately I have given it a try and I have found a book that was causing me a great deal of stress. As I drove to work at 3:00 AM I would listen to the audio book and I discovered that I hated the main character. I felt she was unbearable and found that the thing I enjoyed most about the book was yelling at her for most of the things she did. So, to avoid a relationship or conversation that was mostly based on verbal abuse, I stopped listening to it and began listening to another. It’s been relaxing to just let the book slip away and not worry about how it would end of if I’m missing something.Thanks for your advice.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ljpaul5b3g says:

        I am also not entirely faithful to books. I have been known to read two or three at the same time. I do not believe in monogamous relationships with books. It just makes keeping things straight more exciting.

        Like

      • I used to be able to do that, but now I stick with just two books at a time at the most. This works better for me because I am able to more fully enjoy each story without being distracted by others. As might be guessed I’m quite terrible at multitasking and struggle to walk and text at the same time. I end up not being able to say anything because I’m too focused on making sure I’m not running into things.

        Like

Leave a Reply

