My Visit to the Library

Madison Library Rexburg

I haven’t been to our town library for several months now. This is mostly due to an odd sense of loyalty I have toward my bookshelf. With so many books I haven’t read staring me in the face any time I walk through my living room I feel like a traitor to turn them down, drive to the library, and walk back into my abode with a new book in my hand. I can feel the glares emanating from their colorful spines. But a couple days ago I walked through the front doors of the library, my goal firmly entrenched in the front of my mind.

As I walked through the front door I made a bee-line for the fiction section marked Br-Cu, grabbed the book (Dresden Files #2), and turned on my heel as I headed for the checkout counter. I was resolute in my purpose, but as I passed out of the adult (not inappropriate) section of the library I was stopped in my tracks. Just outside the door to a small room off to the side was a sign that read, “Sale! $5 per bag.” Then in small lettering underneath, “As many books as you can fit in a bag.”

Rexburg Library Sale

I couldn’t believe it. I didn’t believe it. So I casually (kind of. It’s hard to be casual when you’re that excited) I walked to the door and poked my head inside. The woman at the table just inside the door was looking at a book, but I kindly interrupted her and asked her if the sign was true: that I could buy a bag of books for $5. I must have come across as either hard of hearing or mentally retarded because I continued to be unbelieving and asked her the same question, worded differently, two more times. When I had finally been convinced that the sign was a valid advertisement, and the woman at the counter was probably convinced that I was a hamburger short of a happy meal, I rushed to grab my wife who was looking at the movie section and dragged her into the room.

Were the options fantastic? For the price of $5 a bag it was pretty close. For those who aren’t multi-genre readers it might not have been as appealing, but I was in my own personal heaven. My wife spent most of her time with the children’s books and found quite a few good catches including a couple books by William Joyce, the first Mr. Putter and Tabby book, several books about cats (she’s a cat enthusiast), and several others that had good art, cute stories, or both. I found a Clive Custler novel that I hadn’t read, an Elizabeth Peters book that I first mistook for an Amelia Peabody mystery (turned out to be A Vicky Bliss mystery but I like the author enough that I’m not disappointed), and The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova. The last book is by the same author who wrote The Historian, which I blogged about already. It was a phenomenal read and I posted about it a while back, so check it out to learn more.

To make a long story short I was remarkably satisfied by my accidental discovery and left with a near bursting grocery bag in one hand, and the object of my initial purpose in the other. When I walked back into my apartment I was greeted by our four cats and placed my bag of spoils on the table, jubilantly removing my plunder and giving them each a place on our bookshelf. I didn’t pay much attention to the opinions of the other books, so great was my mood, but I do believe I was met with both gratitude and contempt. Gratitude for the new members to join their literary ranks, and contempt that I would bring home more books who would be competing with each of them for the opportunity to be read.

This entry was posted in My Experiences, World of Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

