Task #7: A Book with Nonhuman Characters – Winnie the Pooh

Winnie-the-Pooh

I know what you’re thinking: why is a grown man reading Winnie the Pooh? To put it plainly, I like the story. They are fun, funny, and great to read out loud. Plus I will one day have children and I need to find the good books to read to them so that they have a decent childhood. Though I also believe that everyone should read this book at some point in his or her life. The characters cast a wonderful performance for what it’s like inside the mind of a child as each character represents a different personality or emotion.

A collection of short stories that inspired a series of beloved children’s movies, Winnie the Pooh and all his friends in the Hundred Acre Wood live very active lives full of adventure. Whether they are traveling to the North Pole with their friend Christopher Robin or trying to catch an elusive heffalump, Winnie the Pooh and the gang are always looking for adventure.

As a beloved children’s story this is a must for anyone looking for books to read to their children. For young children in the throws of exploring the stretches of their imagination, the adventures of these woodland characters would provide a great deal of fuel for their creativity. So many children have imaginary friends or talk to their stuffed animals and these stories will help children realize that there is nothing wrong with them for doing that.

To tangent from the fun, loving aspect of the story I wanted to take a minute to look at the psychoanalysis of the characters. I had heard of the theory that each character of the Winnie the Pooh stories was a representation of a psychological disorder, but I had never taken the time look into it in any length. I could guess most of them, the only ones which were new to me were Pooh (Eating Disorder), Christopher Robin (Schizophrenia), and Kanga (Social Anxiety Disorder). I don’t want to go into too much detail on the subject as it is rather excessive, but for anyone who is interested in looking into this a bit more can check out the link below.

https://knowledgeguild.wordpress.com/2012/10/13/the-mental-disorders-of-winnie-the-pooh-characters/

However, as interesting as that theory is I don’t think that’s what A. A. Milne intended to portray when he wrote these stories. If my account is correct, and I believe it is because my mom told me and we all know that mothers know everything, then Christopher Robin and Pooh were based on his son and his teddy bear. As an English major I find both the inspiration and the psycho-analysis fascinating and it is for this reason that I find the study of literature to be so wonderful; there is no end to the symbolism and the meaning found in stories if you have the imagination to keep up.

This entry was posted in 2015 Book Challenge, Book Reviews, Children's Novels, Fantasy, Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Task #7: A Book with Nonhuman Characters – Winnie the Pooh

  1. crochetqueen228 says:

    Your Mother, of course, is absolutely correct. The books were based on the authors son and his stuffed animals. One thing I did find disturbing was that in a recent article I read there was a an excerpt from an interview with Christopher, apparently he hated the books and really resented what he considered to be his father’s hijacking of his childhood. I had heard the theory that the characters all represent a mental disorder but I think you are correct that the author didn’t intend that to be. Big hug!

    Like

  2. Well that is sad, though I don’t quite understand it. They may be based on his son and his imaginary adventures, but I don’t quite understand how that constitutes as A. A. Milne “hijacking” his son’s childhood. I would be interested to hear Christopher’s reasoning for why he feels so slighted by his father. The only thing that comes to mind is that Christopher feels that way because these stories became so successful, and though they are about him he receives none of the acclaim. I don’t know. If you find that article again I would enjoy reading it.

    Like

  3. I will be reading a book that my brother got for me called “Pooh Perplex”. It is a series of analytical essays written about the Winnie the Pooh stories, and I hope to find them interesting if nothing else. When I finish it I will review it to share what I find out. I didn’t realize that the work of A. A. Milne was such a popular work for analysis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

