Day 7 – Live What You Love: The Blanchard’s Story Of Finding A Life To Live Their Dreams

Live What You Love

This week has been a week of returning to old favorites, and it has been a surprisingly nice journey. I’m usually not one to reread many books as there are far too many new books to read, but I think I will make time in the future for a few rereads.

Bob and Melinda Blanchard are living their dream: spending most of the year running their restaurant in the Caribbean then returning to their Vermont home in the off season to enjoy the best of both worlds. But their lives have not always been like this; in Live What You Love, the Blanchard’s share tales of failure and success, hard times and good times, and how each experience shaped them and prepared them for the future. Along the way they offer advice to those who want to follow in their footsteps; those who want to cast off the traditional roles of the world and live outside the little bubbles that society has deemed acceptable of a “normal” life.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my life and what I want to do with it. The things I want to do are not all that traditional. I’m almost done with my schooling to become a teacher (the traditional part of my life), but I also want to be an author and more. I’m not sure where life will take me, but the idea of being tied down to one career for the rest of my life is rather terrifying. So reading about the Blanchard’s adventures did more to encourage me than most other books about living your dream and overcoming limiting beliefs. Their stories felt more real, like they were normal people who have gone through the rough and tumble of life until they got to where they wanted to be; they made me feel like I could be like them. I began to feel hope in the prospect of a future that I love, but also fear that I will never be able to do all the things necessary to get there.

If you can find this book, I would recommend it for those who are beginning to feel like they want more from their lives. I say if because I found it in a bookstore four years ago when I bought it and have only ever seen it once since at a Barnes and Noble in New Hampshire. But if you can find it, take a day or two (because it isn’t very long or a hard read) and enjoy their story. Maybe you don’t want to make any big changes in your life, but even if you don’t the stories are wonderful and inspiring.

Every journey is different, but sometimes we need someone to start their journey in order for us to find the strength the follow.

Rating: ★★★★★

This entry was posted in 2016 Book Challenge, 7 Day, 7 Book Challenge, Book Reviews, Inspirational, Nonfiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

