7 Day/7 Book Challenge: In Closing

So the week is over, the books have been read, and accomplishments have been felt. I know this post is late, but I got sick over the week and fell behind in the reviews, but I stayed up with the books and finished them all, though I must admit that I didn’t quite finish them within the seven days. The final book, Live What You Love, was finished Monday morning at 12:34 AM: thirty-four minutes after the deadline. I was a little disappointed in myself… I had really wanted to complete this challenge perfectly, since I’ve never succeeded in any of the other challenges that I have given myself for my blog, but I’ve come to acknowledge it as a success nonetheless. Seven books in just over seven days is nothing to sneeze at. I don’t know if I’ve ever read that many books in such rapid succession before; if I have I don’t remember, though I was quite a prolific reader when I was younger. None of the books were very long (most of them falling between 170-250 pages), but to be honest I’m not used to reading for several hours every day. It feels strange to let my hands type those words, but it’s true. I’ve grown accustomed to being in school, working, or doing a variety of other things that keep me busy so my reading stints usually happen in short bursts. However, it was nice to spend three to four hours each day reading, even though at some points it was a bit exhausting. It also helped me to realize how much time I spend watching movies and doing other things that waste a good portion of my time.

But before I get to carried away, I would like to announce the winner of my first contest: Leslie Whitcomb (author of the blog And Then I Sleptandthenislept@wordpress.com). She participated in the challenge and read 5 books including:

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield

Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris by R.L. LaFevers

Thank you all for your comments, your participation, and your support. This was my first contest and I know there were a lot of problems with it that made it harder and less popular for those who might have otherwise wanted to participate. If you can think of anything you think I should change to make such contests better in the future please let me know in the comments and I will try and improve for next time.

Thank you again and keep reading!

 

 

This entry was posted in 7 Day, 7 Book Challenge, World of Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

